Press Release: January 18, 2016

Entries for One World Media’s prestigious annual awards close next month on
Thursday 4th February 2016.

Did you spend 2015 reporting on the refugee crisis from the Calais Jungle or the shores of Kos? Were you at the frontlines up close and personal with Boko Haram in Nigeria or IS in Syria? Has your work helped focus the world’s attention to where it was needed the most? Has your reporting been a catalyst for change? If this sounds like you or a colleague don’t miss the chance to enter the
One World Media Awards 2016.

Now in its 28th year of celebrating journalistic excellence in international media coverage of the developing world, One World Media is calling for journalists and media industry professionals from around the globe to submit their ground breaking, original, and engaging work for the annual One World Media Awards by Thursday 4th February 2016, with entry open to staff, freelance and student journalists, and media professionals.

Focused on highlighting the vital role journalists and filmmakers have in increasing cultural understanding and supporting equality and justice worldwide, the One World Media Awards have set an industry gold standard for media professionals reporting in, on and from the developing world, throughout Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, Latin America, the Middle East, Russia and the post- Soviet states. Entries are judged not only on the basis of production and editorial values, but also the originality of content and the accuracy, impact and reach of their reporting.

Last year’s winners included BBC Panorama: Ebola Frontline by Blakeway Productions, which followed the work of MSF in Sierra Leone during the height of the Ebola outbreak. The Leonardo Di Caprio produced and Academy Award® nominated documentary film Virunga won both the Corruption Reporting Award and the Documentary Award for casting light on the struggle to protect the home of the world’s last remaining mountain gorillas from poachers, corporations, and armed militia and rebel forces in the Congo. Egypt’s only network of independent local newsrooms, Welad ElBalad, took home the coveted Special Award.

Hosted by Jon Snow, the prestigious One World Media Awards attract top decision makers from the media, and from education, government, and international development. With the addition of two new categories in 2015, the Women’s Rights in Africa Award and the Refugee Reporting Award, the One World Media Awards now boast fifteen different categories covering digital, print, radio and broadcast journalism, as well as both short and feature length documentary film.

Hopefuls can enter the Awards online at www.oneworldmedia.org.uk/awards and by sending five copies of each entry by post. The deadline is Thursday 4th February 2016. To be eligible, entries must have been published, broadcast, launched or screened between 6th February 2015 and 4th February 2016.

The 15 award categories for 2016 are:
o International Journalist of the Year Award
o Refugee Reporting Award - sponsored by British Red Cross
o New Voice Award
o Radio Award
o Television Award - sponsored by the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
o Press Award
o Digital Media Award - sponsored by Google
o Short Film Award
o Women’s Rights in Africa Award - sponsored by the African Development Bank
o News Award
o Popular Features Award
o Documentary Award - sponsored by Bertha Foundation
o Student Award
o Corruption Reporting Award - sponsored by Transparency International
o Special Award - sponsored by CNN

Winners will be announced at the awards ceremony in June 2016 held at BAFTA in London.

To find out more about the One World Media Awards please visit:

Notes to editors

For more information, please contact:

Visit the newsroom of: Media_Moguls